August 17, 2015 – Week 45

Temperatures from the past 5 days in HELL, 113, 114, 116, 118, 113… This week was literally the hottest endurance test ever on the face of the planet. I’m literally suffering.  You guys havo no idea what 118 degrees feels like. It literally sucks because the sweat just pours out as you take in the water.  I have some nasty pictures of my shirts and what they look like by the end of the day.

This week was pretty good though.  It wasn’t as successful as I thought it would be, but it was a good week. There was a guy that passed away in our ward this week.  We had to give talks at the funeral and I ended up speaking about the Atonement of Jesus Christ and how we will conquer the bands of death just like him. His name was Eduardo Almazan.  The previous Wednesday he asked us to give him a blessing and I gave it to him and the coolest thing happened. In the blessing I told him to keep holding on to the iron rod until he gets back to Heavenly Father, and after the blessing his wife came to walk us out and she said the days before, they have an iron rod keychain, she told him to hold on to it and dont let go. It was really cool. I also knew that he was going to die soon while giving him the blessing. But sometimes the healing comes in a different way than we think. This man had throat cancer and he had a pipe in his throat to help him breathe. He has been suffering for a long time, but he has been healed. He’s now in paradise and I’m sure he is really happy. He was awesome and I’m a little sad that he passed away, but he’s really in a better place.

     I really loved the package that y’all sent to me. It was awesome to see all the messages on the flag that you sent. Tell Wayne I’ve got a project for him for when I get home. The shoes I’m wearing suck and I’ve been sticking glue to them to hold them together. Hopefully I can make another 3 months with them! But I’ll save them for him for when I get home.  I really don’t need anything else Mom and Dad, I’m all set!
     Anyways the baptism we were going to have didn’t happen this guy just isn’t ready yet.  He still hasn’t had his answer to the Book of Mormon to see if it is true or not, so hopefully this week he will get his answer and he can get baptized by the end of this month. We are working pretty hard with him, we are probably going to fast this week for him so that he can get baptized. Hopefully all goes well.
     Everything here is going really well.  On Sunday they changed the meetings to an hour and a half long because the air conditioning doesn’t work. We only had 1 investigator come. It sucked because we hardly ever have any. For whatever reason they just don’t come. Anyway this week will be better!  Love all of you and stay on the the boat and don’t get off. Have a great week! LOVE YOU.
Darin 4 Darin 2 Darin 3
Standard

Leave a Reply

